Number One Fan

Steal my voice and make it yours.
The speakers tell you only what you want to hear.
Words and melodies take disguise.
The gavel drops without a word from the silent auctioneer.

And you say that you listen,
But your eyes change the words.
You speak in a duet
That I will never dare to learn.

Lying with you is like drifting in the ocean.
I’m seconds from drinking the salt in this sea.
It’s a beautiful view of the sunset horizon,
But I realize there’s nothing but water and me.

You’ve gone and learned the intro by heart.
It’s astonishing watching this skill.
You sing and you play every single note,
Yet the title has been replaced on my playbill.

And you say that you listen,
But your hands change the beat.
You bring back the verse
In an unwanted repeat.

Lying with you is like drifting in the ocean.
I’m seconds from drinking the salt in this sea.
It’s a beautiful view of the sunset horizon,
But I realize there’s nothing but water and me.

And in every town I see you,
You somehow change your name and face.
And you sing along, innocent,
Unaware of how you speed up the pace.

Lying with you is like drifting in the ocean.
I’m seconds from drinking the salt in this sea.
It’s a beautiful view of the sunset horizon,
But I realize there’s nothing but water and me.

And I lie in the water.
I smell salt and feel sun.
The horizon looms closer,
As I finish our tune alone.

One thought on “Number One Fan

Leave a Reply

