Vicious Cycle

One, two, three, four.
Beat the nail on the head.
The pounding echoes inside my skull.
Over and over and over.

Grind my teeth to dust.
Curl my hands to fists.
I can hear my deep breaths like tornadoes in my ears.
In and in and out and out.

Lights on or lights off.
Homeowners are ducking beneath the windows.
My fingers sweats on the doorbell.
The ringing just echoes and echoes.

Day in, day out.
Thoughts like swallows.
Darting down to the water and back up to the sky.
Twisting and turning and always flying away.

Leave a Reply

