The Infinity Dream Awards

Alright then! The amazing B.K. Rivers, Author has nominated me for the Infinity Dreams Award. I will play my part and then call out some crazy talented writers to follow suit. Here’s what it entails:

  • Thank and follow the blog that nominated you.
  • Tell us eleven facts about yourself.
  • Answer the questions that were set for you to answer.
  • Nominate 11 bloggers and set questions for them. (I probably won’t do 11, let’s be real, so I won’t judge if we fudge the numbers here)

11 Random Facts

  1. The first book I ever wrote was actually a Buffy the Vampire Slayer fanfic. But it wasn’t actually Buffy. It took place after the known Buffy-verse, where another girl had been chosen (though I kept Spike in it, hehe).
  2. I’m the type of nerd who not only knows/remembers how to diagram sentences, but also really enjoys it!
  3. Most people don’t believe me, but I am a completely natural pale-ass blonde.
  4. I am a senior in Emerson College’s Writing/Publishing degree program, and I hate that I never find time to pleasure read because I have so much homework reading.
  5. I met my boyfriend online, and we have currently been dating for one year and two months. Take that relationship statistics!
  6. I have a cat named Keiko. My former roommates call her a demon, but she’s MY demon!
  7. Once I graduate in the spring of 2016, my goal is to find a position as a literary agent or start my own business as a freelance editor.
  8. I love singing as well as writing. I took two years off before college to join a performing group to teach kids overseas through music.
  9. I’m the girl who has way more guy friends than girls. That’s just how my personality goes!
  10. White wine, whiskey, and cider are my faves. Hands down, if I’m drinking with you, one of those three shall be ordered.
  11. Last but not least, I have three tattoos: a feather quill writing a heart made from music notes, Japanese symbols combining “circle of life” and “once in a lifetime” (personal memories from three months I spent in Japan), and a John Green quote.

anklemytatquote

11 questions from who nominated me

1. Is there a certain snack you like to eat while writing?

Not particularly. Honestly, if I’m hungry, I’ll just go for whatever might be within arm’s reach or whatever looks appetizing at the café I’m in. =]

2. What do you do to get in the mood to write?

Sometimes I’ll reread what I wrote the previous day. I don’t think there’s really a jumpstart to it. If I’m not motivated that day, I’ve just got to force my butt into the seat and start.

3. What is your favorite obscure word? Use it in a short pitch for your WIP.

It’s not really obscure, but I love the word “debacle.” My WIP is about a young girl who learns she is the last remaining descendant from an evil, Celtic Wiccan mythology, and the Tuatha De Danann order are determined to wipe out what they consider her “dark” magical line. The book confronts the debacle that ensues as she tries to decide if the people she cares for are really worth trusting.

4. What is one food you can’t live without?

Chicken! I’m a picky eater, but I can always depend on chicken!

5. Name a celebrity you would love to spend a day with. What would you do?

Anna Kendrick, and I don’t know! We’d probably just go out and get milkshakes and maybe sing a little ’cause we’re that awesome.

6. If you could take a class in anything, what would it be and why?

That’s a tough one. There are so many interesting things out there to learn! Since I’m a writing student, I have a lot of required classes, so I’d love to know more on creating my own website, but a legit one. Like, one that handles selling editing services or book products and networking and such. It’s so hard!

7. What is one book you can read over and over again, and why?

I’ve read The Giver by Lois Lowry at least six times. Not only is it on the shorter side, so it doesn’t take long, I can always come up with new thoughts on characterization or meaning. I also don’t necessarily need to read it with the thought of its sequels. It can stand on its own. I’ve also read Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart many times for her great imagery and descriptions of imagination.

8. What inspired your current WIP?

I was a part of the Pitch Wars competition and saw advice on what a lot of mentors were interested in seeing in manuscripts. Combine with that I’m Irish and have always been fascinated with the legends behind it, I figured I could do a pseudo-retelling mixed with magical realism in modern day.

9. Who is your current book hero, and why?

I have no current book hero, sadly. I seem to love flawed characters best, because they are most human, so I don’t make heroes out of them. Makes for interesting reading sometimes.

10. If you could live in any time period, what would it be and why?

Jane Austen times. I’ve always felt strangely drawn to them, like I was there in a past life.

11. Which would you rather be, a vampire or werewolf, why?

Neither if I’m being truthful. Massive amount of hair and eternal life are not interesting. But if I have to choose, it’ll always be vampire. Wolves have never held any fascination for me. Sorry, doggies!

WHO’S UP NEXT???

Emily.K.Bee, Erika Winterlia, Brynn Barineau, Tracy C. Gold, Jessica Bloczynski, Samantha Joyce, & Monica M. Hoffman

My 11 questions to the new nominees:

  1. What are your goals for the remainder of 2015?
  2. If you had to wear one item of clothing for the rest your life, what would it be and why?
  3. Favorite flavor of ice cream?
  4. How many bookcases do you currently own?
  5. Do you have any half-finished manuscripts hidden away in a drawer somewhere? If yes, summarize one.
  6. Do you prefer writing with a pen or pencil (or keyboard!), and why?
  7. Is there a favorite book you go to for inspiration when writing a tough scene? If yes, what is it and why?
  8. Do you insist on solitude for writing, or can you indulge in background noise?
  9. Serial comma: yay or nay?
  10. Favorite season?
  11. The final and most important question from Buddy the Elf:

buddy

One thought on “The Infinity Dream Awards

Leave a Reply

